Skip to content

Hot air balloons should be used more often

July 25, 2010

I don’t even really think I need to write a post to follow the title above, but it would probably look weird if I didn’t, so I’ll go ahead and whip something up here. Um, where to begin? Hot air balloons look awesome, mostly because of the color of the balloon itself; usually bright colors the don’t go well together, like orange and red, and then also purple and blue, and maybe then a bunch of yellow. Basically the colors that were huge in the 80s and early 90s. I’m guessing they pick bright colors so that planes don’t fly into them. I mean, it wouldn’t be smart to have a balloon that was painted to look like the sky, although that would be incredible because the person in the basket below would look as if he or she was floating in a basket in the sky. Of course, the colors and stuff would have to match the sky pretty well.

Is there really a danger of planes flying into hot air balloons, anyway? I mean, is this a legit concern to have? How high can they go? Just looked. No higher than around 68,000 ft it seems. How high is that anyhow? I couldn’t really tell you because it’s impossible for me to look into the sky and tell you how high something is flying. The sky is generally really crazy to understand in spatial terms because it extends without end. I guess that’s where the phrase “The sky’s the limit” is from. Nope, that’s not true at all. Anyway, the point is that I just looked to see if a hot air balloon had every been hit by a plane, and it looks like it has not happened. There’s a website called hotairballoonaccidents.com, no joke. Can you believe that?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2010 6:47 pm

    I thought this was gonna be something to do with that horse that was stuck to an air balloon to advertise something in Russia

    • onthekip permalink*
      July 26, 2010 1:00 pm

      Good, educated guess, but way off.

Leave a comment